Back to top
New Italian Cinema
Australian Premiere


La stranezza

The top Italian film at Italy’s box office in 2022 and declared Film of the Year at the 2023 Nastro d’Argento Awards, Roberto Andò’s imaginative and irreverent twelfth feature Strangeness explores the inspiration behind one of modern Italian theatre’s revolutionary works. 

It is 1921 and future Literature Nobel Prize Winner Luigi Pirandello (Toni Servillo, The King of Laughter IFF22, The Great Beauty IFF14) returns to his beloved Sicily for the 80th birthday of his mentor, famous novelist and playwright Giovanni Verga. 

Upon his arrival in Agrigento, unexpected news catapults him into a universe populated by incredible personalities, ghostly visions, distant memories and melancholy apparitions. Here he encounters a pair of gravediggers/aspiring actors, Onofrio and Sebastiano (comedy duo Salvatore Ficarra and Valentino Picone, Once Upon a Bethlehem IFF20) who deliver hilarious, amateur stage productions. On this compelling journey Pirandello is stirred out of a creative block and confronts his nostalgia, propelling him toward the creation of his masterpiece, “Six Characters in Search of an Author” a work which will mark a worldwide revolution in twentieth-century theatre.

Reality and fiction, drama and comedy meld together gracefully in this film, which offers up illustrious cameos.
2022 | 103 min | Comedy, Drama | Itally
Cast: Toni Servillo, Salvatore Ficarra, Valentino Picone, Renato Carpentieri, Donatella Finocchiaro
Language: Italian with English subtitles
Roberto Andò


Born in 1959, Sicily, writer/director Roberto Andò worked as an assistant director with Francis Ford Coppola, Federico Fellini and Francesco Rosi. Andò made his feature film debut with The Prince’s Manuscript (1999). In 2013 he adapted his novel into Long Live Freedom (2013) which won the Best Script David di Donatello Award.

Film of the Year, Nastro d’Argento Awards 2023
Best Original Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Costume Design, Best Producer, David di Donatello Awards 2023